Unless a winery received prior approval granted over a decade ago, these bubblies can’t just be labeled “Champagne.” If you want to label it as Champagne today, and it’s not really from Champagne, you’ll have to disclose exactly where it’s from so there’s no confusion.
Unfortunately, labeling laws aren’t as clear when it comes to listing animal products in champagne. Confusion abounds.
As with beer, wine, and other liqueurs, animal products are often used in the clarifying process of making champagne.
Once added, the tiny particulates from the grapes stick to the animal product, enabling them to be filtered out. Isinglass, aka: dried fish bladders, eggs and even blood have been used to clarify booze, yet no law mandates disclosing these ingredients. Yet.
So, here’s your cheat sheet, kind ones. These are produced using cruelty-free clarifying agents such as bentonite clay.
Ring in the new year with one of these “Champagnes,” and raise your glass to a more compassionate 2018!
And remember, this year was the FIRST year Guinness, after over 256 years, produced 100% vegan beer. HURRAY!
Why? Not because it’s healthier. Not because it’s cheaper or taste better. But quite simply, thanks to consumer demand: people don’t want fish bladders in their beer.
And I doubt most folks want it in their New Year’s Eve bubbly, either!
Vegan Champagne and Sparkling Wine
- Champagne Fleury
- Dom Pérignon
- Möet Champagne
- Cattier Champagne
- Trader Joe’s Charles De Marques Sparkling Wine
- Trader Joe’s Blanc de Blancs French Sparkling Wine
- Almond Creek Vineyards Almond Flavored Sparkling Wine
- RSVP Sparkling Wine
- Taittinger Champagne
Here’s to a happy, healthy, and compassionate New Year!
Jackie Day, has been vegan for over 30 years and is the author of The Vegan Way: 21 Days to a Happier, Healthier Plant-Based Lifestyle That Will Transform Your Home, Your Diet, and You (St. Martin’s Press / Macmillan)
Your friendly guide to going vegan!